More Wayward Seed Farm peaches!

 After making the Peach-Bourbon-Sweet Corn Jam, I still had a whole lot of peaches left. I froze more than 10 pounds for future pies and cobblers, but I had to come up with another peach preserve. There’s only so much jelly a person can eat  (and give away) in a year, so this time, I decided to go for a more savory jam, to use as the base for a barbeque sauce.

Peach-Thyme-Black Pepper Jam
3 1/2 pounds peaches, peeled and pureed
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup packed thyme – leave on stems for easy removal
1 tsp cracked black pepper
1 package of no sugar needed pectin
Sugar to taste – I used 3 cups

Thyme and black pepper pair really well with stone fruit like peaches.

Add the thyme, pepper, pureed peaches and lemon juice to a pot, and bring to a full boil. Add the pectin, bring to a boil and cook for one minute. Then add sugar to taste - if the pectin doesn’t need sugar to set, you can add as much or as little as you like. Before adding the sugar, my jam tasted pretty savory – three cups brought it up to a nice balanced flavor. Boil for one more minute, then ladle into sterile jars. Process in boiling water for 10 minutes. 

Peach-Thyme-Black Pepper Jam

 This jam set up nicely as it cooled. I already tried it out as a marinade on grilled chicken – I thinned it out with vinegar and a little barbeque sauce. The peach flavor was a little overtaken by the barbeque sauce, so it might be better as a table sauce.

