I’m going to jump around a bit here – before I give an update on the successes and failures of last year’s garden, I’m getting really excited because I just ordered my seeds, trees and bushes for my 2010 garden. This year will be the first time I branch off into fruit. Of course, I’m not the most patient person in the world, so it’s going to be hard to wait a few years to see some results, but I’m in this for the long haul.

I’ve always wanted to be one of those people whose biggest problem in August is that their fruit trees are giving them too many peaches/cherries/plums/etc. to know what to do with. So, I just placed an order at Raintree Nursery, based in Washington State, for the elements of my starter orchard.

Because I don’t have a lot of space to work with, and not much of the space that’s available gets full sun, I had to be strategic in my ordering. I chose trees that self polinate, stay small, are productive, bear tasty fruit and are hardy to Zone 6 (with one experimental exception.) I had to use a lot of restrait to winnow down my dream list, but in the end, I ordered an apricot tree, a cherry tree and a fig tree, as well as two varieties of black currant bushes.

