In preparation for the impending arrival of my trees and bushes, I have a lot of work to do in the yard! I made a list, and I’ve got to say it’s a little daunting! So today, after work, I set out to clear yet more grass out of the yard. Between the herb bed and the large bed on the sunnier side of the yard, there is room for a new 4’x8′ bed. So while both dogs watched really intently, getting tons of dirt on them, I dug it up. I’ve got less and less grass to cut – which is a great thing! It’s less daunting to dig grass out in small patches.

Grass be gone!

So here’s what’s left on my to do list for the next week:

  • Buy lumber and soil components for two more 4’x8′ raised beds. (That’s a lot of trips to Lowe’s in our Honda Fit!)
  • Build and seal the new beds
  • Dig up grass on the other side of the yard for the other bed, and install beds
  • Plant black cherry tree, apricot tree, blackcurrants, rhubarb, blueberries, and transplant the redcurrants
  • Find an appropriate container for the fig tree. Despite claims of cold hardiness, I think I’ll bring it in for the winter, at least for a few years.
