Last week, I planted some cucumber plants and tomato seedlings and volunteers in the tomato bed, and this weekend, Janna and I filled up the rest of the bed after a trip to Franklin Park Conservatory’s plant sale. Last year, we got some great heirloom varieties and this year didn’t disappoint!

We ended up buying 12 plants – 11 tomato and one eggplant. Maybe a little overboard on the tomatoes… I planted the two large eggplant seedlings I got from Lowe’s (Ichiban and Purple Beauty,) three Thai White Ribbed seedlings and three Voilette Longue Hative seedlings that I grew from seed (still tiny) and the one from Franklin Park Conservatory’s sale – a medium white variety.

The tomato bed with eggplant and cucumbers on the left.

We bought two Black Krims (our favorite from last year,) two Black Brandywines, a Mr. Stripey, a Boxcar Willie and six cherry/pear varieties that we’ll plant in our Topsy Turvys later. I removed a few of the volunteer seedlings to make room for the new plants, and potted them up. If anyone needs some seedlings – they’re still small – I have six tomatoes and an eggplant to give away.

A tomato seedling in the ground.

