It’s never too early to start planning for the next season in the garden. Last weekend, I placed another order with Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds. I can’t recommend Baker Creek enough – the seeds germinate well, they’re priced well, and orders arrive in just a few days – this time, two business days, with an apology note for the lag time! They also always come with a packet of free seeds. I’ll probably start these seeds in the late August timeframe – either indoors to protect them from the heat, or directly in the beds outside.

Most of the seeds I ordered were for salad greens: De Meaux Endive, Pepper Cress, two packets of Arugula, Dutch Corn Salad and De Mervelle des Quarte Saisons Lettuce. I’ll plant some of the arugula throughout the summer, but the rest of the greens will likely go in the ground in late summer or early fall.

The free seed packet this time was a variety of cauliflower. I’ll have to look into whether I can plant it now, or have to save it for next spring. In addition, I ordered another brassica – Extra Dwarf Pak Choy – a fast growing, supposedly flavorful Asian green. I’ll probably sow some komatsuma seed remaining from last season as well.

Of course, I couldn’t let a cool season pass without trying another variety of favas – this time, it’s Aquadulce.

In addition, I’ll plant some root crops that will last through the first few frosts: Flat of Egypt Beets, Long Black Spanish Radish (looks like something from Harry Potter) and Golden Globe Turnips. I’ll plant another row of kale from the seed I already have, as well. I even started thinking about building a coldframe from an old window. More on that later. I hope to extend my season into at least early December.

