In addition to all those salad greens, I’m hoping for success with a few other things. I’m not sure where all these plants will go (maybe I’ll need one more raised bed.) But part of what makes gardening fun is trying new things, and finding out what makes it onto the list for planting every year, and what was just an interesting conversation piece. Here are a few more new veggies and fruit I’ll be trying out this year.

Celtuce – I guess this one falls somewhere between a green and a vegetable. Celtuce is a variety of lettuce that’s grown for its thick stem, which is cooked like asparagus. This was another impulse buy from the Asian grocery store.

Chichiquelite Huckleberry – While I’m waiting for my fruit bushes and trees to produce huge harvests, I feel the need to get more fruit from the garden. Luckily, there are actually a few annuals that produce fruit. Besides the ground cherries that I’m trying again, I found Chichiquelite Huckleberries this year to fill in that gap. Related to tomatoes, eggplant and peppers, these should get pretty huge and produce a lot of tart, purple berries. From the reviews I’ve seen, they might not be great for eating fresh, but are pretty nice in pies and jams, which is fine with me!

Annual Artichoke – I live in Ohio, so I never thought I could grow artichokes – traditionally a perennial crop that takes a few years to get established before prodcuing. But I was listening to the Good Food podcast, and one of the farmers they talked to was boasting about an artichoke that takes about five months to produce and is grown as an annual. I immediately checked the seed catalogs, and found it – Imperial Star.I’ve started the seeds, but whether I can grow this depends on whether I can get that community garden plot – each plant takes up about nine square feet. They’re hardy to Zone 7, so if we have a mild winter next year, this may even last to the next year.

Charentais Melon – I’ve thought a lot about what my favorite food is, and without a doubt, it’s cantaloupe. But not just any cantaloupe – perfect cantaloupe. So many of the melons I’ve bought end up terribly – mealy and flavorless – so this year, I’m going to try to grow my own. This variety is notoriously finnickly, but I’ll put up with a lot for a perfect melon.

