This morning, I took possesion of my community garden plot! The Gantz Road Park garden is only a 10-minute drive from our house, which makes it far more likely that I’ll actually get over there on a regular basis. My plot is 10’x20′ – a vertiable expanse, and it gets sun from every direction. When I visited today, the program coordinator had a huge box of free seeds for the gardeners to use, so I picked up a few packets. We’ve had so much rain lately that the garden hasn’t been tilled yet, and I won’t be able to plant for at least another week, but the soil looks nice and rich, though I’ll probably add some amendments. My plot is pretty close to one of the water spigots, which will be very handy.

My plan is to grow plants that don’t require daily watering in this garden, because I know realistically, I’ll only be there twice a week at the most. I’m also going to try a few things that might not work, but that I just don’t have the space for in my own yard. So far, I’m thinking onions, beans, squash, zucchini, melons, artichokes, cabbage, eggplant and some flowers. It should be a fun summer!

