This may be the rainiest spring I can remember. Almost every day, since late March, we’ve had rain. It’s also been unseasonably cool, which has been great for the lettuce and other greens I planted in March and April, but pretty dreadful for the prospect of getting the heat-loving summer veggies in the ground. The community garden has been so wet that I haven’t been able to do anything with it.

Even though it’s raining right now, tomorrow looks clear for a change, and I’m resolving to get something in the ground over there. While it is a huge space compared to my yard, it’s not unlimited. I want to make the most of what I have, and most plants will need to be spaced further apart than if they were in raised beds. So last night, I put together a very nerdy, but I hope, very helpful plan to maximixe the space.

