With only two apricots on my tree, there aren’t going to be any hyper-local apricot recipes from me this year. But I did see California apricots at the grocery store today that looked great, so I thought I’d make an easy dessert that featured their deliciously tart flavor. Apricots and almonds go great together, so I thought I’d put some almond flour in the crust, and I dug out my soft-set apricot-noyeaux-bourbon jam from last summer for a bit of added sweetness. The cookie-like crust is the perfect complement to the almost sour fresh apricot halves on top.

Apricot-Almond Tart
Mix 1 stick of melted butter and 1/2 cup of sugar.
Stir in 1/2 tsp of vanilla, then 1/2 tsp of salt, 2 tbsp of almond flour and 1 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour.
Butter a tart pan, and press the dough into it.
Dock the crust, and blind-bake for 10 minutes in a 350-degree oven.

Brush the warm crust with 2-3 tbsp of apricot jam, then layer on apricot halves.

Bake for 45 minutes, until the apricots are meltingly soft.

