Most of the yard is looking pretty great right about now. However, there are a few places we haven’t got around to sprucing up yet. The two-foot-wide strip of dirt on the east side of our house is pretty much a wasteland. But among all that, there are a few bright spots, and of course, a great opportunity for next year.

I've let the bed around this elderberry bush get out of control. I didn't get the bush until late November, and most of it had died - but new sprouts did come up. It's not going to produce any fruit unless I plant another variety to pollinate it.

Not bad for plants I was going to throw out!

The mint I planted in the sideyard has migrated about five feet to the south of where I planted it. I planted five kinds two years ago, and they're all interwoven now.

